Skip to Content
Schedule a Consultation 309-673-0069
Schedule a Consultation 309-673-0069

Peoria Uninsured Motorist Attorney Fighting for You

Motor vehicle accidents occur every day in Illinois and for the most part, you understand what to do immediately after an accident, but what if the other car in your accident doesn’t have the required insurance? If this has happened to you, a Peoria uninsured motorist attorney at Parker & Parker can help.

What is Uninsured Motorist Insurance?

Sometimes other drivers don’t carry insurance, even though that’s illegal. Uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage helps to protect you from being unable to recover money from someone without insurance when you’re in an accident caused by an uninsured or underinsured driver. Uninsured Motorist Insurance (UMI) protects you if you’re in an accident with an at-fault driver who doesn’t carry liability insurance by allowing you to make a claim under your own policy.

There is also Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury (UIMI), which covers you and your passengers. It pays for crash-related injuries that exceed the other driver’s available coverage. For example, if the other driver has a maximum of $25,000 in coverage, but you have $50,000 in underinsured coverage, you can make a claim for up to $25,000 on your own underinsured policy.

However, beware: UMI and UIMBI only pay for liability, i.e., bodily injury, it does not pay for damage to your vehicle. For collision coverage, you’ll need to purchase Uninsured Motorist Property Damage (UMPD). UMPD pays for repairs up to $20,000 per accident.

A Peoria uninsured motorist attorney at Parker & Parker understands the insurance laws and can help you navigate them before or after you’re involved in an accident.

What Happens if I’m Hit by a Driver Without Insurance in Illinois?

In Illinois, if you have at least the minimum amount of car insurance, you will likely have uninsured motorist insurance. Every situation is different and we can’t comment without the specifics, which is why we recommend you contact a Peoria uninsured motorist attorney at Parker & Parker. Our team can explain what coverage you have and advise on the next steps if you are in an accident with an uninsured motorist.

A Peoria Uninsured Motorist Lawyers Can Also Manage Hit and Run Accident Claims

An unexpected positive side-effect of Illinois’ insurance laws is their effect on hit-and-run accidents. The Illinois Department of Insurance regulates insurance companies, agencies, and agents, which includes hit-and-run accidents. 

In Illinois, liability insurance policies automatically include uninsured motorist coverage at the legal minimum requirements for bodily injury or death. This helps make sure there is coverage if you are involved in an accident with an uninsured driver. 

Uninsured motorist coverage covers not only uninsured motorists but also hit-and-run accidents. The reasoning is that when someone hits you in this type of accident, you do not have the opportunity to get their insurance information if they even have it. Unfortunately, the reason there are so many hit-and-run accidents is that many drivers have no insurance. They do not want to pay the legal consequences, so they do not stop and run the risk that are not identified by the authorities.

A Peoria uninsured motorist attorney at Parker & Parker can help you or a loved one if you were involved in a hit-and-run accident or any type of car or truck accident caused by an uninsured motorist.

How Much Insurance Do I Need to Drive in Illinois?

According to the Secretary of State’s Mandatory Vehicle Insurance (PDF) brochure, Illinois law “requires all motor vehicles registered and operated in Illinois to be covered by liability insurance, which covers property damage and/or injuries you may cause others in an accident. (Trailers are not required to have liability insurance.) You are in compliance with the law if you have liability insurance in the following minimum amounts:

  • $25,000 for injury or death of one person in an accident.
  • $50,000 for injury or death of more than one person in an accident.
  • $20,000 for damage to the property of another person.

You must carry your insurance e-card in your vehicle and show it upon request by any law enforcement officer. Your insurance company should send you an insurance card, usually when your policy is issued or renewed.” 

Penalties for Driving Without Insurance

There is a minimum $500 fine for operating an uninsured vehicle and a minimum $1,000 fine for driving a vehicle while the registration is suspended for no insurance.

For first-time offenders, the vehicle registration is suspended until a $100 reinstatement fee and proof of insurance are submitted. Repeat offenders must serve a four-month suspension, pay a $100 reinstatement fee, and provide proof of insurance. 

Your vehicle may not be driven, by you or anyone else, while the license plates are suspended. Any person who:

  1. receives court supervision for a mandatory insurance violation, or 
  2. is convicted of a third or subsequent violation of driving without liability insurance. 

A Peoria uninsured motorist attorney at Parker & Parker can handle your claim for you after an accident and there is no risk in calling to learn about your rights after a car or motorcycle accident.

Speak with a Peoria Uninsured Motorist Attorney Today

Contact a Peoria uninsured motorist attorney at Parker & Parker either online or by calling 309-673-0069 if you’ve been involved in an accident with an uninsured/underinsured driver. We’ll help you find the best way to maximize your financial compensation.